Dr. Timothy Oswald


Reverend Dr. Timothy Oswald was installed as Pastor on November 13, 2016. He grew up in Addison, IL and graduated from Wheaton College in 1984 with a Bachelor of Arts in Biblical and Religious Studies. He also holds a Master’s degree in Divinity, Master of Military Studies, Master of Theology in Systematic Theology and a Doctor of Ministry degree in Military Ministries. His area of special interest in his studies arose from his work as a Navy Chaplain and examined Christian ministry in religiously pluralistic settings. Pastor Oswald retired as a Captain in the U.S. Navy Chaplain Corps after 22 years. 


Pastor and his wife of 34 years, Dawn, have four grown children. His passion is to present God’s Word in preaching and teaching, always with a view toward how each segment of text contributes to the larger message of the Bible as a whole which is God’s work to reconcile people to Himself through His Son Jesus Christ.

Nadine Kelm


Nadine has been serving as Church Secretary at Hope since 2007. She moved to Twin Lakes in 2006 with her husband, George, who presently serves as Organist and Chairman of the Elders.

They were members of St. Peter Lutheran Church, Arlington Heights, IL, from 1972 to 2006, where George served as the Director of Instrumental Music in the school. Nadine served on the Altar Guild and was a member of the Hand Bell Choir. She was also a Bethel Bible Series Leader in the 1970’s. In Arlington Heights she was employed as a Legal Secretary for 24 years and worked in mortgage lending prior to that time. 

George and Nadine have said they both consider themselves very blessed to be a part of the ministry here at Hope.

church elders

Elders  top row left to right...

George Kelm, 

Paul Trettin,

David Krueger,

Peter Voigt.

Bottom row left to right...

Floyd Bergstrom

Gary Schaetten

James Tonkinson

The Elders of Hope Lutheran Church are responsible for the spiritual life of the church.  

Three main areas include worship services, Bible study, and member attendance. 

The mission statement of Hope Lutheran Church is

"Dedicated To Knowing Christ and Making Him Known To Others."


Council members top row, left to right...

President George Kelm

Evangelism Chair Paul Trettin

Reverend Dr. Timothy Oswald  

Stewardship Chair Peggy Tueting

Treasurer Tami Voigt

Bottom row, left to right

Secretary/Admin. Asst.Nadine Kelm

Chairman of Elders Peter Voigt

Vice President Gary Schaetten

Chairman of Trustees James Tonkinson

Cameo on the right, Director of Finance Dick Cooke

It is the duty of the Church Council to consider and discuss all matters pertaining to the welfare of the congregation and present recommendations to the Voters' Assembly. The Church Council is responsible for the business of the entire congregation and to maintain the church and the property in good order.